My Bangkok

Posted on September 9, 2013

0


Anindam Choudhury
Country Manager, Jet Airways (Thailand & Indochina)

A charming and witty thirtysomething from Kolkata and “that guy who works for Jet Airways” are a few ways to describe him. But there are other things that you don’t know about four-year Bangkok resident Anindam Choudhury. He secretly hopes to take one long holiday without looking at his Blackberry. He focuses on simplicity and approaches life enthusiastically. Before he got sucked into the corporate world, he was an avid mountaineer and a climbing instructor for a decade. But most importantly, Anindam loves street photography, and despite a gruelling schedule, he hits the streets with his lens every chance he gets.

Bangkok in three words
Love being here

I unwind by
Meeting up with friends for dinner or a quiet drink. Sometimes I just drive out or walk around taking photographs.

Working on Sathorn
Convenient in terms of commuting. It is close to the river and has some of my favourite restaurants.

The Thai dish I miss when away
Nam prik pla tu

Favourite breakfast food
Coffee and croissants at Café 1912 on Sathorn, on the Alliance Française premises

Favourite coffee shop
Gallery Café at Bangkok Art and Culture Centre (BACC) on Rama I. I get an Americano or a double espresso.

Favourite rooftop bar
Above Eleven, Sukhumvit Soi 11

Where I go climbing in the city
Racquet Club, Sukhumvit Soi 40

First-date spot
Any of the small riverside restaurants like Samsara.

Favourite iconic Bangkok spot
Wat Arun at night from the other side of the river is breathtaking.

Favourite Indian restaurant
Masala Art and recently Maya at Holiday Inn Bangkok Sukhumvit 22

Favourite bar for a Saturday night
Used to be [now-defunct] Ad Makers on Soi Ruamrudee…I prefer my whiskey, Macallan.

My go-to shop for photo gear
I mainly pick up my cameras from Japan, but in Thailand, it’s Fotofile at MBK. I also buy stuff on eBay, especially old film cameras.

Favourite place for street photography
Chinatown and Old Bangkok area. The colour and people make street photography unique in Bangkok.

Published in Masala Lite magazine, September 2013

Click to view photos My Bangkok

Posted in: People