Postcard from Cicada Market, Hua-Hin

Posted on December 18, 2012

0


travel………

(featured in Masala Magazine in December 2012, Thailand)

[For original click on the link below]

Postcard

Dear Masala,

I know you’re in Hua Hin almost every other weekend, having sangkhaya with sticky rice at the night market, but have you been to Cicada, the so-called outdoor art market? I just got back, and I just loved it!

Built as an artists’ village, the idea behind it was to promote indigenous handicrafts made by local designers and artists. It’s divided into zones. I picked up a hand-painted t-shirt and a gorgeous set of antique-y earrings at the Art A La Mode section, and a forest landscape sketch to hang over my bed from a local artist in the Art Factory zone. It was hard to pick from all the original paintings, though!

Towards the end, I just walked around the gardens, had a drink, and watched the lanterns swaying from the tall trees. Around 7pm, a musical performance started up at their open-air amphitheatre, and it was hard to believe I was in Hua Hin at all.

You really should go next time. And the temperature is cool with plenty of sea breeze. Take a songtaew or a tuktuk from town. It’s right by the Hyatt, and it’s open Friday to Sunday, 4–11pm. cicadamarket.com
Love,
Reena

Posted in: Travel